Interview Question 1

20 Aug

From time to time, we get  thrown some curves in interviews.  Here a question that might require some thought.  I hope it helps.

 

Interviewer:

 “Have you ever been in a high pressure, time sensitive situation that required diplomacy where the results of  the situation were highly visible to others?”

 

Me:

 “Absolutely.  In my job, I manage two individuals.  For reasons that intertwine with company culture and financial considerations, they were placed on a short-term leave of absence.  They are wonderful people to manage, but each had a distinct personality.  Their only flaw was that they had trouble making it to work on time.  For some reason, they had a hard time getting out of bed in the morning. One was  type A, the other type B.  I was very successful in adapting my management skills to each individual and they succeeded, but that’s another story. 

Anyway, I received notice that the company needed them to come back to work, but they would now report to someone else.  The rub was that while I didn’t know their supervisors, they knew me.  They had my email address, my phone number, and could call me in at a moment’s notice to discuss their performance.  Oh, and did I mention that they had some hygienic problems as well?  

Picture yourself in this situation – you’re trying to get two people, who sometimes have to be told to take a shower(!!!), they have a hard time rolling out of bed  AND they way they act is going to be a direct reflection upon you!” 

Well, to answer your question, after their leave, I provided guidance after normal working hours to ensure they were ready to go to work for their new supervisors AND reflect positively upon me.”

Interviewer: 

Wow!  It sounds like you went above and beyond to help them out, even with some “um” unorthodox work habits.

Me:

Well, I did feel somewhat of an obligation. After all, they are my kids and it was the first day of school.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

